European Women of Legal Tech Winners – The Full List

Last night the final stage of the European Women of Legal Tech Awards 2020 took place, with 50 winners named across five categories. Here is the full list of winners for the awards. In total, 180 women were nominated.

The five categories are:

  1. Law Firms and Professional Services;
  2. In-house and Business;
  3. Entrepreneurship;
  4. Academia and Education;
  5. Public Services, Politics and Social.

One of the winners, April Brousseau, Global Lead, Clifford Chance Create and Innovation, in the Professional Services Category, said: ‘The European Women of Legal Tech Awards are a celebration, not just of nominees and winners, but of a community. The awards showcase the influence of a tribe of professionals that lift each other up and share each others’ successes.’

The Full List of Winners:

Law Firms and Professional Services

  1. Catherine Bamford – CEO & Founder, BamLegal
  2. Isabel Parker – Founder & Director, Doyenne Consulting Ltd.
  3. Lina Krawietz – Managing Partner, This is Legal Design GbR
  4. Marjan Hermkes – Co-Founder, L-IME
  5. Christiane Müller-Haye – Director Global Strategy & Products, Phoenix Business Solutions division of Morae Global
  6. Sophie Martinetz – Founder and Managing Director, Future-Law
  7. Charlotte Gerrish – Founding Lawyer, Gerrish Legal
  8. Electra Japonas – CEO & Founder, The Law Boutique
  9. Kerry Westland – Head of Innovation & Legal Technology, Addelshaw Goddard
  10. Miriam Vietzke – Lawyer, Founder and Managing Director, Scheidungsportal24
  11. Priya Lele – Legal Operations Lead, Client Solutions, UK, US & EMEA, Herbert Smith Freehills LLP, Co-founder She Breaks the Law
  12. Uzunma Bergmann – Senior Privacy Counsel, First Privacy GmbH
  13. Wendy Persoon – Innovation Manager / Design Lead, ARAG
  14. April Brousseau – Global Lead, Clifford Chance Create & Innovation
  15. Pilvi Alopaeus – Tech Lawyer, Google
  16. Karol Valencia – Legal Project Leader, eID and Legal Designer & Dead of Innovation Affairs, Lawcus
  17. Maryna Steger – Business Development & Communications Professional, P+P Pöllath + Partners Rechtsanwälte und Steuerberater mbB

In-house & Business

  1. Paulina Jeznach – Associate Legal Counsel (CEE), Google
  2. Amalia Vosteen – Contract Manager, dbh Logistics IT AG
  3. Jane Clemetson – Commercial Legal Director, Reach plc
  4. Ines Curtius – Contract Manager, Airbus Defence and Space
  5. Fiona Morris – Lead Counsel, Legal Technology and Innovation, Accenture
  6. Helga Szabo – Head of Operations, Flightright
  7. Jenny Hartmann – Legal Counsel, Axiom


  1. Anna de Stefano – Legal Innovation Hacker, Start Up Advisor & Mentor, Business Angel
  2. Antonia Pape – Founder Product, Nominandum GmbH
  3. Caroline O’Grady – Partner, Coote O’Grady Ltd.
  4. Christina Blomkvist – Founder, GreenCounsel AB
  5. Janet Taylor-Hall – CEO, Cognia Law
  6. Julia Salasky – CEO & Founder, Legl
  7. Laura Fauqueur – Design Thinking Facilitator, Director of Masters in Legal tech at CEU IAM
  8. Laura Kistemaker – COO, / Justice42
  9. Lea, Bötticher – Founder and COO, LAWIO GmbH
  10. Magdalena, Oehl – CEO, TalentRocket GmbH
  11. Margarita Sivakova – Co-Founder, CEO, Legal Nodes
  12. Mariana Hagström – Founder & CEO, Avokaado
  13. Mary Bonsor – CEO, F-LEX
  14. Merete Nygaard – CEO, Lawbotics
  15. Petra Arends-Paltzer – CEO, Davos Digital Forum

Academia and Education

  1. Stefania Passera – Assistant Professor, University of Vaasa & Founder, Passera Design
  2. Doruntina Berisha – Student Assistant, University of Vienna
  3. Malin Männikkö – Legal Technologist, DLA Piper
  4. Frauke Rostalski – Professor of Law, University of Cologne
  5. Susanne Reinemann – Editor, Neue Juristische Wochenschrift
  6. Helena Haapio – Associate Professor of Business Law, University of Vaasa, Adjunct Professor of Proactive Law and Contract Design, University of Lapland & Contract Strategist, Lexpert

Public Services, Politics & Social

  1. Serena  Ariello – Project Officer, European Lawyers in Lesvos
  2. Helen Avakyan – Member of the Russian Federal Chamber of Lawyers Council & Counsel at Egorov Puginsky Afanasiev & Partners
  3. Sina Dörr – Judge, Regional Court in the district of the Higher Regional Court of Cologne
  4. Andrea Lindblom – Administrative Chief, Helsingborg District Court
  5. Ramak Molavi Vasse’I – Digital Rights Lawyer – Legal Design Thinker, The Law Technologist

The awards were put together by several organisations, with no-code automation company, BRYTER, and global law firm, Hogan Lovells, leading the way. Artificial Lawyer also supported the awards as a media partner.

Michael Grupp, CEO, BRYTER, said: ‘Legal tech is emerging as a new industry – and we want to make an effort for it to be a diverse industry from the start. To see that this idea has resonated with so many people is amazing. We are very grateful for the support these awards have received.’

Nico Kuhlmann, Associate, Hogan Lovells, concluded: ‘The Women of Legal Tech Awards bring one thing above all: visibility. We want to recognise women who contribute to visible changes and particularly stimulate the legal tech sector. In this way we can increase diversity in the industry.’

Congratulations to everyone who took part and who won an award this year!

(Main photo shows some of the 50 winners.)