2nd American Legal Tech Awards Calls For Nominations

The second American Legal Technology Awards are launching this week, with once again a call for nominations across a range of categories. Twenty five judges will grade the companies and individuals this year. Judges for 2021 include well-known legal tech experts Alex Su (Evisort), Maya Markovich (Nextlaw Labs / Dentons), Colin Levy (WordRake), and Dorna Moini (Documate), among others.

Tom Martin, CEO of LawDroid, and co-founder of the Awards along with legal academic, Cat Moon, and law firm founder, Patrick Palace, said: ‘It’s been a year of lockdowns, virus, and unimaginable change – socially and technologically, yet there is cause to celebrate. Within our industry there have been many agents of positive change and legal technology has come into its own.’

He added: ‘We stay committed to honouring those making a difference with our mission to hold up examples of excellence in creative innovation and technology in the legal industry for the purposes of (1) expanding our understanding of what is possible, (2) encouraging a virtuous cycle of improvement, and (3) creating a more just society.’

Those nominated will face several questions, including:

  • How does the nominee’s work expand our understanding of what is possible?
  • How does the nominee’s work encourage a virtuous cycle of improvement?
  • How does the nominee’s work help to create a more just society?

The award categories are:

Access to Justice – an organisation or individual who has made a difference by helping the underserved access the legal system through the use of technology. 

Startup – a legal technology startup company that has created a product or service that shows significant promise in providing outsize benefits to its users.

Enterprise – an established legal technology company that has successfully grown a product or service that demonstrates a unique and positive impact on its users.

Technology – a technology applied in a new or novel way in the legal industry that achieves a significant benefit.

Law Firm – a law firm that utilizes technology to exceed client expectations in a significant, measurable way.

Individual – an individual who has demonstrated success throughout their career in making a positive difference in the world as it related to legal technology.

Court – a court or judicial officer that displays outstanding use of technology that achieves a significant benefit to the public.

Law Department – a law department that uses an innovative approach to create significant efficiencies or a positive human impact.

More information and how to enter/nominate can be found here. The deadline for nominations is August 31 and the winners will be announced in November.

The full list of 25 judges: Janine Sickmeyer*, Miguel Willis, Shannon Salter, Nick Rishwain, Maya Markovich*, Gabriela Cubeiro, Sam Glover*, Yvonne Nath, Jean Clauson, Dan Lear*, Tiffany Graves, Colin Levy*, Irene Mo, Ed Walters*, Ivy Grey, Daniel Rodriguez, Natalie Anne Knowlton*, Amanda Brown*, Quinten Steenhuis*, Felicity Conrad*, Alex Su*, Nicole Morris*, Scott Schlegel*, Dorna Moini*, Bahar Ansari*

(*New judges)

Below is a table showing the winners of the first Awards last year:

Artificial Lawyer is proud to be an official media partner for the American Legal Technology Awards.